Home Cart Listen Calendar Contact

Upcoming Performances

By Mark Sepic
July 27, 2019, 11:00 am to 3:00 pm
NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River
FREE, Pay by donation
Discover new musical possibilities from objects that are typically considered trash. On July 27 join Mark Sepic and jam with him on the sculpture - Junkestra - made from locally discarded materials. The sculpture will be created collaboratively with children participating in the Near North Enviro-Education Centre's summer camp program.
Dual Abrasives
By Alan Bloor
August 31 at 7 pm.
NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River
General $10
The performance, Dual Abrasives, will compare two (of many) sound projects of Alan Bloor: Knurl and Pholde. Both of these projects use the treated analog sounds of metals cultures from found objects. Knurl, began in 1994, as an idea to capture the very harsh and abrasive sounds of the welding shops in which Bloor worked. Pholde, which was initiated in 2002, has a more suspenseful, "ambient" sound. In this project, Bloor uses the natural resonances of the metal. This evening's performance will concentrate mainly on sounds from saw blades, which coincides with the exhibition hosted by NAISA of a work by Sonia Paço-Rocchia that also explores the sounds of saw blades.
Double-Tranchant @ NAISA
By Sonia Paço-Rocchia
Sep 27-29, 2019, 11 am to 3 pm, FREE
NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River
Double-Tranchant @ NAISA is a drop-in live performance by Sonia Paço-Rocchia that will take place during Culture Days weekend using musical saws and other instruments inspired by objects that can cut. The performance is a commentary on the contrast between the brute, the sharp and the flexible, the fascinating.
Sonia Paço-Rocchia is a composer, sound installation artist, improviser, maker, creative coder, live electronics musician. Her work has been presented all over North America and Europe. Sonia Paço-Rocchia’s research is about sounds, timbres and forms. Talented improviser, she uses a myriad of sound-makers, invented instruments and sound automatons, voice and mostly bassoon, along with live electronics. Working on the form, most of her work have visual elements and are non-linear, choices given to the players, or, for installation work, interactivity shapes the compositions. - http://www.musinou.net